Exploring The Familiar

Living in the chaotic, cramped and endlessly busy town of Brighton, I rarely get to enjoy the place I live. Tourists and annual swathes of students swamp the streets, seafront and city centre. Parks are packed with people either dancing with fire, smoking drugs, or both. Tourist attractions such as the Royal Pavilion (where I got married, the only bit of quiet time there!) have queues round the corner and are so noisy inside you really can’t get a feel for the place. I’m surprised the pier hasn’t sunk with the sheer number of people fighting for the best view to photograph hanging off the railings and the North Laine is a place where you are invisible and only worth being shoved aside. Oh, the beach. Well, don’t even attempt it on a sunny day. I could go on, but I won’t. Escaping the chaos for a day is a rare occurrence, usually only attempted when travelling with or meeting someone.  Recently I spent some time in London with dad and met my friend Stuart for coffee in Trafalgar Square. He mentioned how he often forgets how he loves being a tourist in London and I have to say I completely agree. Not only do the sights never fail to amaze me no matter how often or how many times I may see them, but I love the anonymity of it all too. Everyone lets passers by go about their day, no invisibility or shoving required, and who knows, you may end up chatting with a tourist or two (my sneezing fit and a family sightseeing from the Caribbean made for quite an amusing conversation). The coffee shops were full, but we still got seats and thoroughly enjoyed many a much needed brew.

I’ve called this post Exploring The Familiar as this is the only part of London I seem to visit with my camera in hand. I love the splendor of Buckingham Palace, the elegance and beauty of the police and military horses, the green and colourful gardens alive with buzzing insects, squirrels, ducks and birds. It’s also very easily accessible and close to Brighton. So despite a very high pollen count and many a sneezing fit that day, dad and I had a perfect day wondering through London, travelling on the Tube and even riding on Route Master Buses.

Here are some of my favourite photos of the day…

Leave a Reply

