A Blustery Afternoon on Brighton Pier

A rare afternoon out lead to a wet and windy trip to Brighton Pier.

IMAG1650 1

After filling my face in Harvester (who can resist the endless salad and filled potato skins?!) we headed to the pier for some sea air and arcade fun.

IMAG1503 1

IMAG1505 1

Seagulls fighting the gusts

IMAG1506_BURST002 1

 

Living a twenty minute walk away from the sea front would lead you to think I’d be there all the time, and if I had my own way I would be. But chronic illness doesn’t allow for that so I make the most of it when I can.

Blustery weather is one of my favourite times to visit the pier. I love the sound of the pebbles rolling in the waves, the sight of waves crashing against the sea and rocks, and dodging the crashing water splashing everything it comes within fifty feet of.

IMAG1652 1

The West Pier left in ruins in the distance

IMAG1649 1

The sound of the pebbles crashing in the waves makes me feel so content with life.

IMAG1648 1

Brighton Marina is almost invisible in the mist of the sea and rain

After an hour on the pier and emptying a two penny machine of Love Hearts for the grand total of £2, I was ready for the dark bus journey home.

IMAG1655

The tourists stay out longer than me

Of course, this afternoon out means it’s compulsory rest with my kitty the following day, but the pain and exhaustion was totally worth it. I had the best afternoon in what feels like forever. I can’t wait for next time!

IMAG1662

Listening to happy music with Trinny

Karen xx

Leave a Reply

