Race For Life

Years ago my friend and I ran the 5k Cancer Research Race for life at Sutton Park, that year I also did the 10K. We raised a few hundred pounds between us and I really felt we made a difference to peoples lives.

Since I got ill, I’ve dreamed of doing another 5k, and this year I’ve thrown myself in at the deep end and signed up to walk the Brighton event. Although I have my own health problems I know there are people out there far worse off than me. Cancer is a factor in all of our lives, we all know someone who has been affected by it.

With a little inspiration from the wristbands and badges I’ve bought to get me through the tough days, and reading the blog of the lovely Kris Hallenga who is an inspiration to all young women out there, I will get round that course if I have to crawl it until midnight. And the next few months is about me getting fit and well enough to do it.

Until then I’ll continue to donate my regular monthly Direct Debit to Cancer Research, shop in my local charity shop, and try and raise as much money as little old me can.

http://boobchiefkris.tumblr.com/

https://www.justgiving.com/karenrubins-lawrie/

http://raceforlife.cancerresearchuk.org/index.html

/227644_6660211906_87_n

2 thoughts on “Race For Life

Leave a Reply

